RSS

Blog #3-Genres of Research Writing

02 Feb

I got on to Purdue Online Writing Lab and found an article that talks about the genres. It starts off saying what a research paper is. A research paper is a cumulative paper of different resources that the student found through a primary search and a secondary search. The sources are also related to one topic. It also says what a research paper is not. A research paper is not a summary of different sources that inform people on the topic. It is also not a book report or any other paper like that. There are two major genres. The two major genres are argumentative and analytical. The argumentative research paper is trying to persuade the audience on the writers stance on the subject the writer is taking. In an analytical research paper the writer starts off with a question because the writer hasn’t taken a stance on the subject.

The two topics I choose are Myasenthia Gravis and The Gilmore Girls. I chose them because people should be more aware of Myasenthia Gravis as a disease and people who are fans of The Gilmore Girls deserve to know how the show came to be.

If I choose to write about Myasenthia Gravis I will write in a analytic paper because I would be informing people about the disease through my research and my own opinions along with my families opinions. If I did The Gilmore Girls it would also be a analytic paper also, I am not sure how I would do it in a argumentative paper. I see myself completing the research in that genre because I think that my past research papers have been analytical. I’m not really sure.

“Genre and the Research Paper.” Purdue Online Writing Lab. http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/658/02/

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Blog #3-Genres of Research Writing

  1. smithdaniellebqcq

    February 2, 2010 at 5:19 am

    I think you should do Myasenthia Gravis because you want to do something original that noone heard of before. I know I would be interested in it because I NEVER HEARD OF THAT! and Gilmore Girls people have heard of. But GREAT JOB!

     
  2. Kayla

    February 3, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Hey! Nice outline on your blog (looove banana smoothies hehe). I would like to say you should do Myasthenia Gravis because first, I have never heard of it before and two, like Dani said it would be good because you want to do something original. For the personal experience, do you know anyone who has Myasthenia Gravis? Because that could be a really personal part of your paper. All in all, nice job with your blog girl! (:

     
  3. amandalbtp

    February 7, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Yea i decided to do Myasthenia Gravis. I’m doing a novella with it and I’m going to write about a family that has a member of there family that has the disease. My dad was diagnosed with the disease in January 2005.

     

Leave a Reply

 
